Henderson Domestic Violence Defense Attorneys
If you have been accused of a domestic violence crime in Nevada, time is not on your side. You need to reach out to an experienced criminal defense attorney in Henderson right away.
When you need the best defense, call Zentz & Zentz!
A weapon does not necessarily have to be involved in order to proclaim domestic violence. Any violent confrontation with a family member/s can be considered one due to its negative impact on the victim’s mind and emotions. But of course, physical violence will further bring about weighty charges.
If you are being charged with domestic violence, you will need the help of professional lawyers who will provide you with the justice that you demand or the freedom you desire. Most of us aren’t good at properly laying out the facts of our situation in a compelling way. If you want to win the case, you must have an excellent defense lawyer who will be your defender in this situation.
Call Zentz & Zentz, Attorneys at Law at (702) 602-9110 for a Free Consultation!
What is Domestic Violence?
Domestic violence pertains to individual crimes that include but are not limited to the following: battery and assault, spousal abuse, trespassing, sexual assault, destruction of property, child abuse or negligence, stalking, misdemeanor, felony, etc.
In Henderson, a total of 1,791 contacts were recorded by the National Domestic Violence Hotline from victims of domestic violence. In this area, charges commonly begin when a person makes a call to the police. Policemen then proceed to the said location and examine the situation. If a crime has obviously occurred, they will compose a police report that details what they witnessed at the scene.
The person responsible for domestic violence is typically arrested by the policemen within 24 hours, even without a warrant of arrest. Afterward, the arrested culprit must stay inside the jail for 12 hours before he/she can be bailed.
Commonly, the domestic violence crimes (without the involvement of weapons or any injury) happening in Henderson are misdemeanors. Although, the case escalates to a more serious level once the aggressor is found out to have a history of abusive behavior such as emotional, financial, and sexual abuse that can unfortunately occur in espoused relationships.
Domestic Violence Charges
Being charged with domestic violence in Henderson is a huge dilemma especially when you are only accused, but innocent. If you are proclaimed as the alleged aggressor, you have the right to hire your own defense lawyer.
In the trial, the defendant has the best chance of disproving and confounding the state’s case against him and demonstrate that he or she did not perform the crime. The best way to win the trial is to be defended by the Zentz & Zentz, Attorneys at Law domestic violence attorneys.
A person does not need to be present at the scene when police arrive to be charged with Domestic Violence. So long as someone claims that the person committed this act the police and prosecution will bring charges against the defendant.
Penalties for Domestic Violence
A first and second offense Domestic Violence are considered misdemeanors in Henderson, Nevada.
A First Offense Domestic Violence will carry punishments of:
Fines up to $1000
Community Service of at least 48 hours
Domestic Violence Counseling of 1 class per week for 6 months.
A Second Offense Domestic Violence will carry punishments of:
- Fines up to $1000
- Community Service of at least 96 hours
- Domestic Violence Counseling of 1 class per week for 1 year.
A Third-time Domestic Violence is considered a Felony, as well as any Domestic Violence using strangulation or causing substantial bodily harm or injury in Henderson, Nevada.
A Third Offense Domestic Violence will carry punishments of:
- Prison Time of 1-5 years
- Fines up to $10,000
A Domestic Violence where strangulation or causing substantial bodily harm or injury will carry punishments of:
- Prison Time up to 15 years
- Fines up to $15,000
There are a few defenses to this offense that a skilled and experienced lawyer can use on your behalf. These include:
- Self Defense
- Mutual Combat
- False Allegations
If you have been charged with any violent crime, time is of the essence! Contact the law offices of Zentz & Zentz, Attorneys at Law immediately for an aggressive defense and dedicated support throughout the process.
Defenses Against Domestic Battery Charges
A Domestic Battery is defined by the State of Nevada as “any willful and unlawful use of force or violence upon the person of another”. Domestic Battery is also known as Battery Domestic Violence. It is said to occur when the assumed victim is a spouse or former partner, a person you live or used to live with, a person you have a child with, your child, or any relative by blood.
The defenses to Henderson domestic violence charges involve accidents, false claims, self-defense, and self-inflicted injuries. Meanwhile, for cases without the involvement of physical injuries, experts like a psychologist may be asked to testify about the alleged victim’s condition. The prosecution’s case can be weakened when the defense attorney asks the court to show critical evidence like the ones illegally obtained by the policemen during their investigation.
Domestic violence must be proven without a reasonable doubt in any Nevada court.
Let’s Talk Now- Free Consultation
Experienced criminal defense attorneys are what you will need once you have been charged with domestic violence battery. Zentz & Zentz, Attorneys at Law is your reliable Henderson law firm. Our defense attorneys can legally protect and guide you all throughout the case, from the interrogation process to the courtroom. They can reduce your criminal charges and prove your innocence.
If you are facing a serious legal battle, you can find the right defense attorney in Zentz & Zentz, Attorneys at Law who will incessantly fight for your freedom.
Call Zentz & Zentz, Attorneys at Law today at (702) 602-9110 for your Free Consultation with a Henderson Criminal Defense Lawyer!